The Death of an Artist

[This is my first attempt at a rap/hip-hop song. Old school style, like my favorites. Fun experiment! Lyrics below.]

Witness the death of an artist

One who really doesn’t know what art is

All his work has become so artless

Everything he does comes out so heartless.

 

He struggles to perfect his craft

But no matter how he pushes he’s always finishing last

Each day in his hand is a pad and pen

Always waiting for the muse to kick in

 

He’s coping but always feels so hopeless

All he wants is a brush with the dopeness

Why oh why must it be so easy for the

Pac’s Biggie’s, Em’s and the Eazy’s?

 

He should persist, and take it all in stride

Free himself from what he keeps inside

Then one day he comes up with a plan

There’s many unknowns on the internet man

 

Just borrow from here and borrow from there

Put it all together and nobody will care

So late one night he starts his creepin’

Browsin sites intent on some thievin’

 

So much talent to be found on the net

Just sitting there for anybody to get

But he’s forgotten what he started it for

About the joy of writing for himself to explore

 

The thoughts, the love, the pain, the joy

The highs, the lows, the silence, the noise

The streets, the fam, the world, the Life

He’s knows that it’s wrong but pretends that it’s right

 

Pretty soon all the praise comes in

He’s rolling deep in them Facebook friends

And he pushes all the guilt to the side

He’s steady on his way to living the life

 

Any day he’ll be getting the call

Big labels saying “Do you wanna play ball?”

All you gotta do is just sign your name

be gettin’ cash so deep he’ll be making it rain

 

But then it hits, his secrets exposed

Busted by one from who he had stolen

The shame is great he’s finished he’s through

He think’s to himself “What did I do?”

 

Because the fact is, he was good

Had ideas, I wish he’d understood

That patience and work is the name of the game

He didn’t try that’s why the Muse never came

 

Evolve yourself, grow on your own

And one day you can sit on a throne

Built from art of your own creation

And though you may never head a tour of the nation

 

Just be happy being yourself

Peace of mind is the greatest wealth

Practice your craft, develop your patience

That’s all it takes and you’ve already made it

 

Look in a mirror and like what you see

Your soul is filled with creativity

Compassion for others and understand

It’s never too late to live the life that you planned

 

Follow me, follow me, follow me and don’t lose me now

It’s not too late to let your vision out

Follow me, follow me, follow me and please understand

Life can be just what you planned

Follow me, follow me, follow me and don’t lose me now

It’s not too late to let your vision out

Follow me, follow me, follow me and please understand

Life can be just what you planned
Leave a Reply

