The Comforting Moon

The moon was staring once again.

As I lay in bed, in one hand a cigarrette, in one arm my lover for the night, I felt it’s rays shine down and through the smokey glass.

The moon was staring once again.

The rain beat down upon the roof, the bourbon sat upon the stand. The lightning crashed and the thunder played a tune.

The moon was staring once again.

The door was locked and the fire was gone no one but us had cared to stick around, the night; Silent.

The moon was staring once again.

I closed my eyes, smashed the square, for a moment contemplated the meaning of life, but not mine.

And as I was set adrift into whatever world waits beyond the veil I took comfort, for I knew I would forever be watched over.

Leave a Reply

